Board of Directors


Henry C. Pitts, President of The Manor Conservancy has been a Manor area resident for over 60 years. His property is under an easement co-held by the Maryland Environmental Trust (MET) and The Manor Conservancy. He is a retired pension fund manager with Mercantile Safe-Deposit & Trust Company. 

Thorne Gould, Treasurer, has been a Manor area resident since 1992. His homestead is under easement through the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation (MALPF). Thorne is the owner of several area businesses and has served on The Manor Conservancy Board of Directors since 1993. Thorne also serves as Chair of the Finance and Nominating Committees.

J. Doug Behrens is a Manor resident and a descendant of the Sparks and Hutchins families.  Doug's residence is under conservation easement.  Doug is a former manager of hospital pharmacies and has been a TMC director since 2013.   Doug serves on the Easement Committee and advises the Fugate Committee.

Robert Bowie, Jr. has been a Manor resident since 2007. Bob is the founding member, now retired, of the law firm of Bowie & Jensen, LLC. The firm practiced business law, including real estate matters. Bob has also written eight plays performed in Baltimore theaters.  He is a preservationist and avid fisherman.  Bob coordinates Conservancy Advocacy liaisons.

Susanna Brellis has lived in Monkton since 2016 on her homestead which is preserved under an easement with TMC. Susanna is an environmental scientist with KCI Technologies, Inc. and has spent her career studying the effects of development and watershed conditions on local waterways.

George G. Clarke, Secretary, and his wife live in a 19th-century home on TMC & MET-conserved property.  They plan to re-establish agricultural use of the property, restore the wooded acreage and outbuildings and preserve the home.  George worked in financial management at Rockwell International including controllership of manufacturing facilities.  He also developed three franchise territories (Baltimore, Buffalo & Rochester) for a national telecom system that was subsequently acquired by a publicly-listed corporation. George serves on the stewardship and finance committees.

Jim W. Constable is Chairperson of the Board of the Maryland Environmental Trust (MET) andis a partner at Wright, Constable & Skeen, L.L.P. in Baltimore. Mr. Constable’s practice includes corporate and business law, real estate, commercial transactions, transportation law, commercial litigation, arbitration, estate planning, non-profits, conservation easements, dispute resolution, railroad law and utility law. Mr. Constable has written numerous publications on conservation easements and estate planning. Mr. Constable is past president and chairman of The Manor Conservancy and is the former chair of Baltimore County Landmarks Preservation Commission. Mr. Constable is resident of Baltimore County.  Jim serves on the Easement Committee.

Joe Davies is a life-long Manor resident. He resides at Dunmore Farm, which is under easement.  He is the CEO of his own recycling business. Joe is a horseman and a gentlemen farmer and has served on The Manor Conservancy Board of Directors since 2003.  Joe serves on the Easement Committee

Emily Emerick has lived in the Manor area for 26 years and has been the Executive Director of the local treasure, Ladew Gardens, since 2002. Emily has served on The Manor Conservancy Board of Directors since 2013.  Emily is a member of the Development Committee.

Dorian Filbert has lived in Monkton since 1987. Her homestead is under easement co-held by The Manor Conservancy and the Department of Natural Resources. She is a realtor with O'Connor and Mooney Realtors and has served on The Manor Conservancy Board of Directors since 1993. She is co-chairman of the Development Committee

Bill Hach is a North County resident who has performed historical structure and native plant renovation on his Manor home. He is the owner of American Hydro, a concrete hydro-demolition and restoration contracting company. Bill has served on The Manor Conservancy Board of Directors since 2012.  Bill is a member of the Easement Committee and Fugate Committee.

Ron Maher
is a life-long Manor resident. His homestead is under easement through the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation (MALPF). Ron formerly served on the Board of Directors of the Elkridge-Harford Hunt Club, The University of Maryland Medical System (UMMS) Foundation and the Maryland Polo Club.  Ron is co-chairman of the Development Committee.

Harry McDonough, Vice President,
 is a life-long resident of a 312-acre farm on Carroll Road.  He has granted easements on over 170 acres through the Rural Legacy program.  Harry is an independent businessman specializing in privately-held firms.

Joan Norman has owned One Straw Farm in White Hall with her husband, Drew, since 1983. A mostly-organic farm, One Straw has a very active CSA program serving 1500 members and also sells produce to restaurants and at farmers’ markets.  Joan’s farm is preserved through an easement with the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation.

Patrick Smith has been a Monkton resident since 2013.   He is Vice-President/Principal at Blue & Obrecht Realty and is on the Associate Leadership Council of the Living Classrooms Foundation.  An avid outdoorsman and hobby farmer, Patrick has been a TMC director since 2017.


Wilson Taliaferro lives in Phoenix next to the NCR trail and Gunpowder River. Taking action to improve the place where he lives is important to him. He’s a strategic financial planner at Bush River Trust, past alumni board co-chair for Friends School of Baltimore, and a board member for Gunpowder Riverkeeper. He serves on the Finance Committee.

Keith Wills is a Commercial Loan Officer with MidAtlantic Farm Credit (MAFC).   Keith is a Lead Maryland fellow, class of 2006. He is an agriculture and rural entrepreneurial business coach with the University of Maryland Extension Rural Enterprise Development Center. He is also a board member of The Harry R. Hughes Agro Ecology Center, the Maryland Horse Council and a past board member of The Maryland Horse Industry board now serving in an advisory capacity. Keith is the immediate past President of Baltimore County Farm Bureau. He has served as treasurer for multiple agriculture nonprofit organizations and is current Treasurer of the Maryland Agriculture Resource Council. Keith also serves as the Chairman for Shrewsbury Borough Planning commission and was elected to the office of Councilman for Shrewsbury Borough in 2017. Keith serves on the stewardship committee.

To request information about The Manor Conservancy, please Contact Us or call 240-389-2531.

 ┬ęCopyright 2021 The Manor Conservancy. All Rights Reserved. Membership Association Websites by SPARKS!
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software